Revelation Chapter 1 Part (A)

This Revelation of Jesus Christ was given to John by an angel. This is according to Revelation 1:1 and it states: The Revelation of Jesus Christ, which God gave unto him, to shew unto his servants things which must shortly come to pass; and he sent and signified it by his angel unto his servant John. Revelation 1:4 states: John to the seven churches which are in Asia: Grace be unto you, and peace, from him which is, and which was, and which is to come; and from the seven Spirits which are before his throne. From this verse most people ask the question what are the seven spirits of God? To find what the seven spirits of God are we have to go to Isaiah 11:2 which states: And the spirit of the LORD shall rest upon him, the spirit of wisdom and understanding, the spirit of counsel and might, the spirit of knowledge and of the fear of the LORD. According to this verse the seven spirits are:

  1. The Spirit of The Lord
  2. Spirit of Wisdom
  3. Spirit of Understanding
  4. The Spirit of Counsel
  5. The Spirit of Might
  6. The Spirit of Knowledge
  7. The Spirit of the fear of The Lord

This is what is commonly told when people ask what the seven spirits of God are. This is list is partially correct. The actual list of the seven spirits of God are:

  1. Spirit of Wisdom
  2. Spirit of Understanding
  3. The Spirit of Counsel
  4. The Spirit of Might
  5. The Spirit of Knowledge
  6. The Spirit of Judgement
  7. The Spirit of Burning

The Spirit of judgement and the spirit of burning are from Isaiah 4:4 which reads: When the Lord shall have washed away the filth of the daughters of Zion, and shall have purged the blood of Jerusalem from the midst thereof by the spirit of judgment, and by the spirit of burning. The reason I have left out The Spirit of The Lord from this list is because, The Spirit of The Lord does not stand in front of Christ. According to John 10:30 it states: I and my Father are one. If Jesus and The Father are one, how can The Spirit of The Lord stand in front of Christ? The reason I have left out The Spirit of the Fear of The Lord from this list is because, according to Proverbs 9:10 it reads: The fear of the LORD is the beginning of wisdom: and the knowledge of the holy is understanding. According to this verse the beginning of wisdom is the fear of The Lord, and to know God is understanding. The spirit of wisdom is on the list which is fear of The Lord, so it would be redundant to add The fear of the Lord as another spirit. The next question would be, what do these seven spirits represent?

My belief starts here →  I believe that the seven spirits of God represent the characteristics of God. We have to remember God is perfect in His mercy and justice. God loves all sinners with a perfect love, yet He executes perfect judgement and does not let sin go unpunished. Look at how God created this entire universe and you will see how the seven spirits of God reflect His characteristics in His creation ← My belief ends here.

Next, we read Revelation 1:7 which states: Behold, he cometh with clouds; and every eye shall see him, and they also which pierced him: and all kindreds of the earth shall wail because of him. Even so, Amen. I will try to explain by the grace of The Lord Jesus Christ, what this verse is actually referring to in my next blog post titled Revelation Chapter 1 Part (B). Stay tuned, and as always you can follow me on twitter:

2 thoughts on “Revelation Chapter 1 Part (A)

  1. This was very helpful as I was wondering about the the spirit of fear of the Lord being one of the seven spirits. Thank you. God bless you.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s